Who Cares What She Wants? Going Against Her Wishes, The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inducts Country Artist Dolly Parton


The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced its class of 2022. Eminem is being inducted in his first year of eligibility, and he’s joined in the 2022 class by an artist who initially declined to accept the honor, Dolly Parton. The class is rounded out by Duran Duran, Lionel Richie, Carly Simon, Eurythmics, and Pat Benatar.

In addition to the performer category, Judas Priest and the duo of Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis will receive the Musical Excellence Award. Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten will both receive the Early Influence Award. This year’s Ahmet Ertegun Award winners include Sugarhill Records founder Sylvia Robinson, Interscope and Beats founder Jimmy Iovine, and lawyer to the stars Allen Grubman.

In her initial explanation for why she was declining the Rock Hall’s nomination, Parton wrote, “I don’t feel that I have earned that right.” After the Rock Hall confirmed that she could still be inducted despite her statement, Parton gave an interview saying she’d “accept gracefully.” She added: “When I said that, it was always my belief that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame was for the people in rock music, and I have found out lately that it’s not necessarily that.”

Beck, A Tribe Called Quest, Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush, Devo, Fela Kuti, New York Dolls, MC5, and Dionne Warwick were all nominated this year, but will not be inducted.

It was the first year that Eminem, Parton, Richie, and Simon were nominated. This year won’t be Eminem’s first year at a Rock Hall ceremony. Last year, he performed “Rock the Bells” with LL Cool J at the 2021 induction ceremony. In 2009, he gave the speech inducting Run DMC into the Rock Hall.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2022 induction ceremony will take place on November 5 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. It will simulcast on SiriusXM’s Volume channel and air at a later date on HBO and HBO Max.

Performer Category
Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo
Duran Duran
Dolly Parton
Lionel Richie
Carly Simon

Musical Excellence Award
Judas Priest
Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award
Harry Belafonte
Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award
Allen Grubman
Jimmy Iovine
Sylvia Robinson